Google Search Getting Much More Secure

Making It Safe to Search

We live in a world where digital interaction is the number 1 form of communication. With that speed, quickness and convenience comes certain security issue that always linger in the back of people’s minds. With infinite digital lines tieing the global community together eventually perpetrators will try to pry their way into those digital communication lines. The search bar is another one of those areas where Google spends time to secure.

Google has been trying for a few years now to protect search by making it much more protected than it already is.

“We’ve worked hard over the past few years to increase our services’ use of an encryption protocol called SSL, as well as encouraging the industry to adopt stronger security standards. For example, we made SSL the default setting in Gmail in January 2010 and introduced an encrypted search service located at https://encrypted.google.com four months later. Other prominent web companies have also added SSL support in recent months.

As search becomes an increasingly customized experience, we recognize the growing importance of protecting the personalized search results we deliver. As a result, we’re enhancing our default search experience for signed-in users. Over the next few weeks, many of you will find yourselves redirected to https://www.google.com (note the extra “s”) when you’re signed in to your Google Account.

This change encrypts your search queries and Google’s results page. This is especially important when you’re using an unsecured Internet connection, such as a WiFi hotspot in an Internet cafe. You can also navigate to https://www.google.com directly if you’re signed out or if you don’t have a Google Account.”

With personalized search already here for Google and Bing the security threat is only growing stronger for those looking to tap into your search history. Google aims at changing that with their most recent security measures protecting your search bar.

Leave a comment

Alternatively

This will only be used to quickly provide signup information and will not allow us to post to your account or appear on your timeline.